Trial and Error – A Compilation of Persistence

When it came to actually animating, I figured that the best way to achieve decent results was to try and fail often so I could learn from my mistakes and grow in knowledge and skill as I went along, both through peer feedback and through observation.

ezgif-4275767793
This wyvern walk was one of the first walk cycles I attempted, and it shows because it looked off-balanced and the weight was distributed strangely.

 

ezgif-2277990927
This was my first attempt at a human walk. There was no rotation in the hips and almost too much weight. The character appears very heavy for his light stature.

 

ezgif-3070894360
Ignoring the left arm, this walk cycle ended up being a little too bouncy with too much of a feminine curve to it.

 

ezgif-1451862313
I actually found myself liking this walk (almost skip) cycle a lot. I thought the weight and the swing was all very good. The only issue I had was the extreme swing of the entire body.

 

ezgif-2816299968
This walk cycle ended up being far too wiggly. The wiggling is almost aggressive.

 

ezgif-4014220270
This was my first attempt at a run cycle. It ended up looking like something out of Scoody Doo. The legs were also completely wrong.

 

ezgif-3308767960
Another attempted at portraying weight in an animation. This one ended up looking a bit too floating and light for a character of this mass.

 

ezgif-3416510982
For this walk I wanted to portay anger and focus. I thought the shapes were OK, though a little downplayed in the emotion.
ezgif-2125694325
A second attempt at a run cycle. I liked the shapes and energy in the legs, though the whole thing seemed a little slow, and a little more like a big leap rather than a run.

 

ezgif-1700090842
My first attempt a a 3D quadruped . All was going well until I realised that the rig had no controls to move the tail. The cycle was scrapped after that revelation.
Leave a Reply

